Food Friday: Nusstraum Eis

Yesterday I went to Bad Gastein for the day (which is why this post is late). It’s a small ski town about an hour and a half by train from Salzburg. Ann, Michelle and I didn’t want to ski so instead we went to the Felsentherme (hot baths) and relaxed. After spending three hours in the water we decided to go to the restaurant/cafe to give our pruned skin a break. At first I ordered Goulash soup, one of my favorites, but then I saw the ice cream menu and changed my mind. I flagged down the reluctant waitress and ordered the Nusstraum Eis, or nut dream ice cream in English. And I’m sure glad I did. It was three types of nut ice cream: Walnut, Pistachio, and Coconut with whole walnuts, a mountain of whipped cream, and a lady finger. The name could not have been more fitting; except for Ann, who is allergic to most nuts and would easily consider it her nightmare. 

The three flavors complimented each other perfectly: the coconut balanced out the nutty sweetness of pistachio and walnut in a refreshing and clean way. Unlike in America, whipped cream in Europe is unsweetened, which prevented the dessert from being a sugar overload. The compilation of various nut-flavored ice creams was a nice change from traditional chocolate or vanilla ice cream. I highly suggest mixing two or more nut flavors the next time you are at an ice cream shop!

Image

The dreamy nut dream.

Image

Gorgeous Bad Gastein! 

Leave a Reply

