Filzmoos, Austria

Yesterday we went to Filzmoos, Austria for the afternoon. It’s a small tourist town about 40 minutes away by bus, and is seriously the cutest little town in the entire world. 

The drive there took us past alps, castles, and numerous spots used in Sound of Music. I was so tired I wanted to sleep but didn’t want to miss out on all the photo opps! When we pulled into the town I was so excited to see all the snow. I haven’t seen so much actual snow (the “snow” in Austin is bogus) since going to Tahoe in high school. After taking pictures with the horses, we all got into sleighs, bundled ourselves up in the blankets, and started up the mountain. It was freezing with the wind but was so gorgeous you forgot about how cold you were. Everywhere you looked there were trees covered in snow, brooks with trout, troughs of water, and little cabins. The sun was shining and the sky was bright blue. We got so lucky with the weather! 

After about a half hour we got to the restaurant. It was still decorated for Christmas, which made me really happy. Because the trip was planned through the program lunch was a set menu, but it was so good I didn’t even care. We had goulash soup with bread, hot chocolate, and Kaiserschmarrn. Kaiserschmarrn is a shredded pancake with powdered sugar, fresh fruit, and stewed plum sauce. It tastes similar to a Dutch pancake, but better. It was seriously so good, I didn’t even have time to take a picture. I thought I wouldn’t like the plum sauce so I didn’t put any on at first but it was delicious. We decided we need to try to make Kaiserschmarrn in our dorm, but I doubt it will turn out as good as the restaurant’s. 

After we finished eating we took pictures and played in the snow, then got back in the sleighs for the ride down. Another girl, Meaghan, and I sat in the front and chatted with the worker. He told us that both of the horses that were pulling us were pregnant. I felt so bad that they had to take us up and down the mountain, especially after we’d all stuffed our faces at lunch!

On the bus ride home we listened to the Sound of Music soundtrack (how typicial haha). We were all singing along quietly but one girl, Breanna, has an amazing voice and wasn’t afraid to belt it out. She actually sounds like Julie Andrews. We all thought it was the CD until our guide told us it was her singing. We all joked that she sounded like Julie Andrews and we sounded like the children. 

I was so tired from all the food and from waking up early that I passed out on the bus. My friends took pictures of me and posted them on Facebook (thanks guys) and naturally they got tons of likes. Fortunately my friend Michelle also passed out (and got photographed) so I wasn’t the only one. All in all, it was an amazing day and I can’t wait until I can go back to Filzmoos!

Image

 

Image

Horsies!

Image

There are trout in there!

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Snow selfies

Image

Is it Christmas yet?

Image

New preferred method of transportation.

Image

Front row seats ahhh yeah

Image

Post card-worthy. 

Leave a Reply

